its-been-real

A Lesson Instead of Resolutions, Plus 2016 Style Goals

A twist from making New Years resolutions!  Screw them; let me instead share my most major lesson of 2015.  Yes I’m a bit late to the party, but I’ve been putting off writing this because 2015 just wasn’t a very good year for me.  Denial!

its-been-real

top: Urban / shorts: AEO / bag: Marcbymarcjacobs

A Lesson in Relationships

Being in the fashion industry I’m as materialistic as they come and I have no problems saying it out loud – in fact, if I’m not, I wouldn’t be very good at my day job.  I love my clothes, I love my shoes, and I love rolling around on the closet floor that’s full of my favorite things when I’m too lazy to hang them up.

But I consider my friendships priceless.

Throughout 2015 I encountered many attempts to put a price on one of mine, and I found myself thinking about the nature of that relationship.  Friendships are the results of 2 parties having mutual affection in its interactions with each other.  Most would agree that a good friendship is balanced; how much you get out of it depends on how much you put in.  There exists a mutual understanding and caring that goes beyond simple association.  But when one party doesn’t see it that way, how do you deal?  When he or she sees your friendship as a materialistic one, one that they can pay off and feel they owe you absolutely no time of day after what they would consider debts repaid, the relationship is broken.

The off balance relationship felt like one giant void of karmatic nothingness in which I was depositing into on a regular basis; it saddened me and left a sour and bitter bite on my mind and soul.  I took a long hard look at myself; maybe I was expecting too much.  If I offer my time and talents for free in the name of friendship, then maybe I deserve nothing back.

Who am I kidding, that’s bullshit.

Therefore, my lesson – you cannot control the cards you are dealt, but you can make decisions on how to play them.  I cannot control the action of others, but I certainly can control my own reactions.  Have more confidence in my own actions and talents, and stop letting others place value on something that deserves no price tag.  And never align yourself to values through the eyes of others.  The relationships dear to me will always remain priceless, and nothing will change that.

2016 Style Goals

Anyway, life does go on.  Let’s move on to the fashion side of things, 2016 winter style goals featuring oversized silhouettes, monochrome palettes, and minimalism.

6f062449d4e3c2628f72095ca9286287

Culottes be chic in over sized silo

06c0cec84b92e77730edf9651696ba64

Long drapey capes are classics season after season

d09e236276d4e2c5b0e02d037fdbf090

Pair something simple against something unusual

d3e7afd587f8e876a93745f57a143b72

Winter layering done right

b50e83c7452383614f949ee05c0b607d

Seek unique fabrications

748ca79b07eb2505b3a3b44f6589e64c

All black works, every time

4e84040c3618e0b117c9e9438fb96538

Easy and breezy paired with heavier boots

3fb65911ef0c3df5dd54aa6d763af69b

Long silos keep it intriguing

3d5732f5a3c315d7461727a5af52aaac

Breaking up length with minimal jackets and tights underneath

Images pulled from my Style Goals Pinterest board; head on over if you like what you’re seeing!  I certain have way too much fun putting it together.

To wrap up on this wonderful and shiny brand new 2016 Monday; what would you do if you encounter unbalanced relationships?  Have any 2016 style goals?  Drop me a line below.

Happy 2016 beautifuls.

43 thoughts on “A Lesson Instead of Resolutions, Plus 2016 Style Goals

  1. rae tashman (@lovefromberlin) says:

    Loving your style goals for the next year. I love oversized Scandinavian influenced fashion. So many Swedish hipsters (and German hipsters or hipsters from Spain, etc to be fair) in Berlin have this style. I really love it and it looks so effortless. While my own style is definitely more grungey, I do like to dabble in oversizes pieces as well!

    Rae | Love from Berlin

    Like

Drop a line:

